Writing in Vancouver

English: A view from Burrard Bridge to English...

I know, I know. I’ve said before how beautiful the Vancouver region is and I’ll probably never stop saying it.  Rather than repeat myself to your possible annoyance, let me just say what a friend who recently returned from a cruise to the Bahamas had to say.

“Everyone on the ship was saying every day, look at that view! Look at all that water! All I wanted to say to them was it’s great but I see it every day. It just needs a mountain in the back of it. Don’t get me wrong, it was beautiful but all they have is palm trees. All I could think was how beautiful it is in Vancouver.”

My world traveled friend confirmed again for me that I am so fortunate to be a resident and writer in the Vancouver region. We truly do have the best of both worlds.

While many complain of the rain, I’ll take a page from something Tom Robbins once said of writing in the rain being romantic. It is. And then some.

The rain simply does not bother me at all. In fact, when too many concurrently sunny days occur, I long for the rain to keep me cozy under shelter or inside with a window, anywhere I can write to the sound of the rain on the roof.

While there is an abundance of natural inspiration and resources many overlook in the daily shuffle to and fro, there are also a number of terrific writing resources in the Vancouver area. I’ll list just a few for now and perhaps add more, if interest warrants, at a later date.

Having attended the SIWC a few times, had the good fortune of being a member of writing groups with the founder of the annual conference and actually placed both Honourable Mention one year and First the next for fiction and non-fiction, I know first hand the value of the wonderful workshops and information. Not to mention all the writing/writer connections I made and still maintain.

Happy writing, happy reading, happy doing whatever you do, wherever you are.

Shining from Vancouver,

Aurora

Here are a few links to peruse, feel free to add any writing resource links you think valuable to others:

http://www.siwc.ca/

http://www.writersfest.bc.ca/

http://www.bcwriters.ca/

http://www.vpl.ca/branches/

http://www.fvrl.bc.ca/learn/sitemap.htm

26 thoughts on “Writing in Vancouver

  1. Vancouver does look beautiful and I would love to visit, but I just don’t do constant rain unless there is sunshine to go with it. Florida rains a lot most days but the sun will come right back out and brighten the world. Is it that way in Vancouver?

  2. What you say is very true–I have been to the Caribbean and it is beautiful, but our coasts of Canada really can’t be beat for the stunning views they offer. I had a chance to drive from Edmonton to Vancouver Island several years ago with my husband and children, and the sights were wonderful. Only got to the outskirts of Vancouver but I liked what I could see.
    Sometimes I think we Canadians need to brag up our places more than we do (I know we’re not supposed to brag, right?…not the Canadian way).
    Thanks for posting this…I can tell how passionate you are about your city and that’s great to read.

    • Your East Coast is just as stunning, Sylvia. My people hail from there and most landed somewhere in the middle but now this is truly home to me. Bragging is only permitted if we know what we speak of and we don’t do it to diminish others/their homes but to share our “light” and we both do so we are hereby authorized to ‘brag’ LOL LOL :)

Love and peace to you... your thoughts are always welcome here...

