IP CONTROL PROTEST? PLEASE SHARE…

English: 2008 Republican National Convention d...

Image via Wikipedia

I just read something both startling and interesting on the blog I will list below. I did not watch the video. If any of my regular readers, comrade bloggers know anything of this, kindly share please as I know nothing of it and don’t want to join or support something I should not.

http://fourbluehills.com/

Thank you for any feedback you may have. Also, if you know more of this situation, I would appreciate it very much if you share with us. Thanks again :)

UPDATE

THANK YOU TO ALL WHO SHARED WHAT THEY KNOW OF THIS. I HAVE SINCE JOINED THE BLACKOUT WITH FULL BLACK OUT UNTIL TONIGHT AND PROTEST RIBBON AFTER THAT. SHOCKED. WHAT THE HECK. WHAT IS NEXT. SOCKS STUFFED IN OUR MOUTHS. TOTAL MIND ERASURE??? HONESTLY. I’M NOT HAPPY. CAN YOU TELL. THANKS FOUR BLUE HILLS FOR BRINGING THIS TO MY ATTENTION. HOPE OUR COLLECTIVE VOICES WORK :)

20 thoughts on “IP CONTROL PROTEST? PLEASE SHARE…

  1. I joined the protest. I have heard about this for sometime. I truly hope we don’t let them get away with what they are trying to do. they always use fear to take away liberty … makes me NUTS!

  2. Yes, ma’am, valid and frightening, but the protest seems to be working! We also had Obama reject the Keystone Pipeline today, which is a big deal. Good things happen when people use their voices :D

    • Andy, just for the edification of everyone, I did not get that picture from a related protest. It was a Zemanta powered free image. However, I do think there is a physical protest in that people are writing or not writing or blacking out their blogs or signing petitions. Apparently it is very valid. You are correct. This is just plain wrong. Why not just kill freedom of expression in books then, too? Or any other media? Let’s take the stylized journalisticless fodder they pound out and call news, in my opinion, all designed to influence mass psyche. The great mental take over we watched daily and didn’t see coming. Ohboy. I better shutup. I’m getting angry about this now. Did I ever mention I do not like control, especially insidious agenda-driven control of any sort that smacks of keeping anyone oppressed in any way… well I do not LOL LOL Thanks for swinging by. I think we’ll hear more now on this. Going to check it out.

      • Supposed to be but one does wonder when there is always something or someone who would readily control all we do and/or say if we acquiesce. Speaking out, love it and thanks for stopping by to remind me :)

  3. WordPress sent me an e-mail on it, didn’t you get one? Go to your dashboard, scroll down to settings, and click on the protest and you can find out what you want to know. I have my blog blacked out until 8 pm. hugs and smiles, Terri

    • What difference does it make to those of us who merely want to write and share, are they going to control our minds and what comes out of them if we let this happen, what next, I shudder to ask. Not asking. But I’m sure you’ll share more if you know more than I do, Ben.

      • Here are a copy of my comments on Kaitlin & Michael’s e-log.

        http://theatheleseries.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/an-open-letter-to-my-representatives/

        “Community is very scary to the control hungry paranoids who solded us on the Patriot (pause for hollow laughter) Act and Homeland Security. There is an information war going on, and there is a lot more at stake than artistic copyright. As usual, we are being deliberately misdirected while the dirty work carries on in the shadows and under well spun cloaks of weasel words. Look around and dig a little deeper.

        Which is exactly my point about the misdirection. And politicians are not driven only by any personal power issues of their own. No politician has any chance of getting anywhere near Congress, Senate or the White House without massive amounts of cash. Much of this can now be “donated” (i.e. given as a bribe) without being disclosed since the infamous “Citizens Unite” (1984 lives!) case decision by an already corruptly “packed” Supreme Court. And where do these millions come from? Corporate billionaires and their front organisations, named with titles that display a knowing power of Orwellian double talk. And then there is the military–industrial complex of course …

        So all in all there is plenty these people want to conceal, and woe betide anyone who challenges this secrecy. (Bradley Manning?) It isn’t the rights of the 99% they are worried about, nor is it the average citizen who will benefit by the proposed legislation.

        Watch the lady in this three card trick, and wonder who are the shills and who are the marks.”

        http://www.alternet.org/media/153802/major_media_blackout_to_protest_the_stop_online_piracy_act_(sopa)/

        Sign up to Alternet and further links there from time to time to stay abreast of this issue.

      • Ben,
        Thank you for sharing so much information. When I wrote this piece, I anticipated and looked forward to you chiming in on it. Brilliant share. Not only your own opinions but the quotes and links. I’m sure many of us will appreciate learning more and learning how we can actually do something instead of simply bemoaning everything that “happens” to us as if we are nothing, nobody and have no power. We do. It’s called unity. I could spout a list of names here who walked their talk and in unity made a difference for many but we know who they are. They inspire us forward every day. Thank you for uniting your thoughts and ideas with mine. Mostly, thank you for your voice on matters that need a lot more voice.
        Janice

      • What’s good is it is halted for the moment … for revisions, I believe. Let’s hope our voices make those revisions fair and just. I understand prevention of piracy totally but prevention from writing/speaking, never.

  4. Pingback: SOPA!? What. The. Hell? | An Evil Nymph's Blog

Love and peace to you... your thoughts are always welcome here...

